PDA

View Full Version : Training at Front Sight

rkbartley
07-17-2009, 02:20 PM
It's hard to believe it has been two months already since I attended the 4-Day Defensive Handgun training class at Front Sight...what an amazing trip. I've written several things previously and deleted all of them...I'm having a hard time getting my thoughts into words.

I was both physically and emotionally exhausted when I got home...it was an amazingly fun, but exhausting trip...but oh yeah, I would do it again in a heartbeat!! As a matter of fact I plan to go back again in October. :)

The instructors were tough, through, repetitive, aggravating, and terrific. There were about 500 students total registered for the class (blew my mind) which was broken down into instructor groups... 44 students were in our group. We shot in alternating relays of 22 each (with our "partners" helping to "coach") and had four or more instructors with us at all times. The skill level of our group ranged from total novice (one guy had never touched a gun :eek: until he pick up the handgun he purchased from Front Sight the first day of class ) to police officer and retired military. The instructors were able to keep the class moving without leaving anyone behind and were always available before and after class for anyone wanting or needing extra attention.

This was a really terrific long weekend of training. If any of you ever get a few extra bucks, I suggest buying a family certificate on ebay (usually for about $200 and they are good for any date in the future)...it is good for first time students...and that will help cut costs dramatically. I attended with my shooting partner and enjoyed it more, I think, having someone to share the experience with... (It was also comforting, for me, knowing and trusting the person at my back!). ;)