shopify analytics ecommerce
American Sheepdog Online CCW Resource Magazine - Self-Defense: What does that mean?
Click Me
  • Self-Defense: What does that mean?

A recent discussion in our Firearm Instruction forum made me think about the core definition of self-defense.

The Encarta Dictionary listing:

Self-Defense: Self-de-fense (Noun) the use of reasonable force to defend yourself, your family, and your property against physical attack, or the right to do this

Yes, we can debate "reasonable force" in certain situations. But for the purpose of this article, I want to look at self-defense as it applies to a life or death situation. I'm not a lawyer, and nothing here should be considered legal advise. It is my opinion that in a life or death situation, reasonable force should be replaced with "any means available". The discussion mentioned above was in regards to eye gouging to defend oneself. I can see some guys saying; "I'd rather be poked in the eye than kicked in the groin!" I'm not talking about a simple poke in the eye, I'm talking about literally putting your finger or thumb inside your attackers head. Is that extreme? Is more extreme than putting a 230 grain hollowpoint through their head or chest? After all, we are talking about life or death here, not a guy stealing your wallet.