shopify analytics ecommerce
ASD - Star FireStar M-43 - The Original American Sheepdog!
Click Me
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Star FireStar M-43

Default Star FireStar M-43

Hello Everyone!

I've been carrying my Rami now for about 6 Months, and it's a great little gun. I like the weight. It's never failed since i broke it in. I like the feel of it, but it's really thick: almost 2 full inches at the grip (THAT'S THICK!! ) Also, I can't fit all of my fingers on it unless I have a grip extension on it (which adds to the length of the grip...(duh) which I'd like to keep as short as possible). I've done some looking, and some visiting of my local gun shops...and I think I've found the perfect replacement.

It's the Star Firestar M-43.

300px-Star_M43_Fir.jpg

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The Star M-43 Firestar (also called the Star Firestar M-43) is a single-action semi-automatic pistol.It was produced by the now defunct Star Bonifacio Echeverria, S.A. in Eibar, Spain. The Firestar was imported into the United States by Interarms, Alexandria, Virginia. that fires the 9 mm Para pistol cartridge.

Although its external appearance resembles a compact M1911, its design is different in several respects. For example, the Star does not have the 1911's grip safety. Variants chambered for .40 S&W.45 ACP were also produced. The Firestar has operating procedures analogous to those of the Colt 1911: it's single action, and meant to be carried in Condition One (cocked and locked), with a cartridge in the chamber, cocked hammer and locked manual safety. The Firestar lacks both a grip safety and an automatic safety at the firing pin (many current 1911 models have both).

I really want a compact 1911 chambered in 9mm, but they'll all be pretty far out of my price range for a while. This little gun has all of the characteristics that I like about the Rami, and it also provides the grip length I need (due to a smaller trigger guard), and it it literally half the thickness.